In 1981, during the 26th Annual Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO Convention, a resolution was introduced to create the Labor Hall of Fame Award.

This award is presented to men and women within the labor movement whose efforts and sacrifices have enhanced the quality of life for lowa workers.

Resolution No. 12

Subject: TO ESTABLISH AN IOWA LABOR HALL OF FAME

Referred To: EDUCATION COMMITTEE

Submitted By: CLINTON LABOR CONGRESS, AFL-CIO

- **WHEREAS;** The labor movement in lowa has produced many union leaders both in lowa and in the international unions; and
- WHEREAS: These leaders have built the solid foundations that we now in the lowa movement benefit from; and
- WHEREAS: In this one hundredth year of a unified labor movement, we should look back and recognize the accomplishments of our brothers and sisters who built, with their hard work, determination, tears and even their blood, a labor movement we are proud to continue and build on; NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT
- **RESOLVED:** That the 26th Annual Convention of the Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO set up a committee to make rules and regulations, to establish an Iowa Labor Hall of Fame to recognize and honor retired and deceased Iowa union builders: and BE IT FURTHER
- **RESOLVED:** That the first nominees be made to the 1982 lowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO convention, and that further nominations be made in succeeding years.

Charles E. Smith, President Adopted September 1981 Ronald R Remrey, Secretary

<u>1982</u>

Vernon Dale Vernon Davis John L. Lewis

<u> 1983</u>

No Convention held

<u>1984</u>

Bill Fenton June McDonald George O'Hara

<u>1985</u>

John Grogan Dave Hart Reuben Roe

<u>1986</u>

James Caffrey George Weiny Joseph Glackin

<u>1987</u>

Russell Bull Carroll Wright Lloyd Weems

<u>1988</u>

Ray Mills Ben Root Jake Mincks Amalgamated Clothing Workers IUPAT, IFL President UMWA

Machinists CWA IBT, BRCM, AFL-CIO

Machinists UPWA, AMCBWNA Cement, Lime & Gypsum

URW Grain Millers UFCW

UPWA UE, Machinists APWU

Teamsters 1st IFL President AFSCME UAW, IFL

<u>1989</u>

Hugh Clark Don Johnson Jack Tessin UA, IFL President URW IBEW

<u>1990</u>

D.K. "Jim" Gordon	CWA
William Keller	Machinists
Max Webster	ABG (now USW)

<u>1991</u>

Jerry Dunagan	IBEW
Alice Hamad Pence	URW, IBEW
George Peters	UFCW

<u>1992 (Inductees are all signers of the original IFL Charter)</u>		
Ward Hauskins	UAW	
Henry Schwenker	Plumbers & Steamfitters	
Garold Ketchum	Field Rep. AFL-CIO	
Lester Eichorn	UAW	
Edris Owens	UAW	
Bernard Buckley	Amalgamated Clothing Workers	
Ben Jeffries	Laborers	
Eugene Peterson	UPWA	
Alex Kantrovich	Teamsters	
Wilton Seymour	Plumbers & Steamfitters	
Earl Baum	Grain Millers	

<u> 1993</u>

Warren "Pete" Polson	
Inez Pontious	
Harry Smith	

Machinists SCIFL Aux. Barbers

<u>1994</u>

Paul Larsen Harry "Hy" Miller Joe Rejsek

<u>1995</u>

Betty Talkington Al Meier John Cooney

<u>1996</u>

Don Diskey Don Rowen Erma Wiszmann

<u>1997</u>

Wayne Huntsman Pat Marshall Jim Wengert

<u>1998</u>

Robert Carson

<u>1999</u>

Sharon McIntosh Michael Mehaffy

2000 No nominations

2001	L
Alan	Lee

Alan Lee	
Marian Moffitt	
Gene Redmon	

Plumbers & Steamfitters Machinists Cement, Lime & Gypsum

IBEW, IFL Staff IBEW, IFL Lobbyist UAW, IUPAT

AFSCME, IAMAW GCIU, IFL Executive Vice President CWA

IBT IBEW, IFL Board UFCW, IFL President

HERE, Hawkeye Labor Council

IUPAT SEIU

UFCW

CWA

UFCW

<u>2002</u>

Joe Heger George Kourpias

<u>2003</u>

Bob Runde Russ Woodrick

Machinists, IFL Board

Machinists Machinists

UFCW

<u>2004</u>

Al Schultz

IBB

2005 No Nominations

<u>2006</u> Pearl McGill Roberta Till-Retz

Button Workers AFT

<u>2007</u>

No nominations

<u>2008</u>

Robert Soesbe Mark Smith CWA AFT, IFL President

<u>2009</u>

John Connors Dick Fallow Robert Connett

<u>2010</u>

Cheryl HannahAFSCMECharlie SmithIBEWNorm SterzenbachIBEW

IAFF Machinists, AFL-CIO Machinists, IFL Board

2011 William Herrig Donald Schuettpelz Midge Slater

<u>2012</u>

Ted Fehn

Tom Gillespie Dale Jeter Plumbers & Steamfitters Ironworkers, IFL Board CWA, IFL Board

Machinists

Plumbers & Steamfitters, IFL Board GMP, IFL Board

<u>2013</u>

Jan Laue Ron Montgomery Ken Rains

2014 Honorary Member Senator Tom Harkin BCTGM, IFL Sec/Treasurer GCIU, IFL Auditor CWA, IFL Board

Honorary IBEW Member

<u>2014</u>

Joe Ironside Jim Marshall

MacDonald Smith

<u>2015</u>

Senator Dick Dearden Mark Fallis

Francis Giunta

IAMAW, IFL Board ATU, UFCW, NW Iowa Labor Council AFT

AFSCME NALC IFL Board & Auditor CWA Dubuque Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

<u>2016</u>

No Labor Hall of Dinner held due to 60th Anniversary Celebration for the Iowa Federation of Labor, AFL-CIO

<u>2017</u> Bruce Clark Representative Jerry Kearns Fred Noon	APWU, IFL Board USW LIUNA
<u>2018</u> Lance Coles Tom Courtney Jack E. McCoy	APWU UAW UPWA
<u>2019</u> Todd Anderson Ron Koppes Marcia Nichols	SEIU/AFL-CIO IAMAW AFSCME
2020 No Ceremony Due to Pandemic	2

<u>2021</u>

Randy Boulton	USW
Ken Sagar	IBEW
Anthony Stephens	UPWA